mountain time trial logo

race team shortcut1

club rides shortcut

goride shortcut

wags shortcut

 Welcome to Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club

Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club was established in 1937.

Mountain Time Trial

mountain time trial logo

The Vagabonds' Mountain Time Trial was first run in 1947.  Whilst there was a break in promotions during the 1960s, the event celebrated it's 50th edition in 2005, and is now the North East's premier cycling time trial.


  • Trophies
    Mountain Time Trial Trophies

    A number of trophies are awarded to competitors in the Mountain Time Trial, some dating back to the first event in 1947.

  • Past Events
  • The Course

    The Mountain Time Trial course has varied over the years, but has always featured a circuit of the Simonside Hills.

    The current, classic 47 mile course starts and finishes in Belsay, taking in Rothbury and Elsdon, and the climbs of Coldrife, Bilsmoor and Winter's Gibbet.